Rubin Fogel Productions present

Bruce Cockburn

With special guest Terra Lightfoot

Tuesday, September 19th, 2017

Doors open at 7 PM
Show at 8 PM

All ages
Bruce Cockburn

One of Canada’s finest artists, Bruce Cockburn, has enjoyed an illustrious career for 40 years shaped by politics, spirituality, and musical diversity. His remarkable journey has seen him embrace folk, jazz, rock, and worldbeat styles while travelling to such far-flung places as Guatemala, Mali, Mozambique, and Nepal, and writing memorable songs about his ever-expanding world of wonders. “My job,” he explains, “is to try and trap the spirit of things in the scratches of pen on paper and the pulling of notes out of metal.”

For his many achievements, the Ottawa-born artist has been honoured with 12 Juno Awards, released 31 albums in the past four decades, an induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, and a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award, and has been made an Officer of the Order of Canada. But he never rests on his laurels. “I’d rather think about what I’m going to do next,” says Cockburn. “My models for graceful aging are guys like John Lee Hooker and Mississippi John Hurt, who never stop working till they drop, as I fully expect to be doing, and just getting better as musicians and as human beings.”

 

Bruce Cockburn (pronounced Co-burn) got started in 1969 when Neil Young cancelled his headliner slot at Canada's Mariposa Folk Festival to appear at Woodstock. His knotty, fascinating blend of folk, jazz, and rock, blending progressive and Christian themes, quickly gained a following in Canada, and he had hits stateside with Wondering Where the Lions Are, If I Had a Rocket Launcher, and Waiting for a Miracle. The diverse list of artists who have recorded Cockburn's songs also includes Barenaked Ladies (Lovers in a Dangerous Time), Jimmy Buffett (no fewer than four times), the Jerry Garcia Band, and Ani DiFranco.

Bruce will be hitting the road in September with his band, consisting of Gary Craig (drummer), John Dymond (bassist), and John Aaron Cockburn (accordionist). All three or them are featured on Bruce’s new True North album, Bone On Bone, slated for release September 8th. And for the record, John Aaron is Bruce’s nephew.

With special guest Terra Lightfoot.

Bruce Cockburn on the web

Les Productions Rubin Fogel présentent

Bruce Cockburn

Avec invitée spéciale Terra Lightfoot

Mardi 19 septembre 2017

Ouverture des portes : 19h
Spectacle : 20h
Rég. : 53,25$ à 55,25$
Porte : 53,25$
Admission générale
Bruce Cockburn

Bruce Cockburn, l’un des plus grands artistes canadiens, a joui d’une brillante carrière depuis 40 ans, façonnée par la politique, la spiritualité et la diversité musicale. Son remarquable parcours lui a permis d’adopter différents styles musicaux (folk, jazz, rock et musique du monde) tout en voyageant dans des endroits aussi lointains que le Guatemala, le Mali, le Mozambique et le Népal, et en écrivant des chansons mémorables au sujet de son monde de merveilles en constante expansion. « Mon travail consiste à essayer de capturer l’esprit des choses à partir de traits de stylo sur un bout de papier et des cordes de ma guitare », explique-t-il.

Pour ses nombreuses réalisations, l’artiste natif d’Ottawa a été récompensé de 12 prix Juno, a fait paraître 31 albums au cours des 4 dernières décennies, a été intronisé au Panthéon de la musique canadienne, est lauréat du Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle et a été fait Officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Mais, il ne se repose jamais sur ses lauriers. « Je préfère penser à ce que je compte faire », confie Cockburn. « Mes modèles pour vieillir en beauté sont des gars comme John Lee Hooker et Mississippi John Hurt, qui n’arrêtent jamais de travailler jusqu’à ce qu’ils tombent de fatigue, ce que je compte pleinement faire, et de s’améliorer en tant que musiciens et êtres humains. »

Bruce Cockburn (prononcé Co-burn) a commencé sa carrière en 1969 lorsque Neil Young a annulé sa prestation en tête d’affiche au festival canadien Mariposa Folk Festival pour monter sur scène à Woodstock. Son mélange complexe et fascinant de folk, de jazz et de rock, fusionnant des thèmes progressifs et chrétiens, a acquis rapidement un public au Canada. Ses chansons Wondering Where the Lions Are , If I Had a Rocket Launcher et Waiting for a Miracle sont également devenus de grands succès aux États-Unis. L’éventail diversifié d’artistes qui ont enregistré des chansons de Cockburn comprend également Barenaked Ladies (Lovers in a Dangerous Time), Jimmy Buffett (pas moins de quatre fois), le Jerry Garcia Band et Ani DiFranco.

Bruce partira en tournée en septembre avec ses musiciens – Gary Craig (batteur), John Dymond (bassiste) et son neveu, John Aaron Cockburn (accordéoniste).  Cette tournée coïncidera avec le lancement de son nouveau CD, Bone on Bone (True North Records), prévu le 8 septembre prochain.

Invitée spéciale Terra Lightfoot.

Bruce Cockburn sur le Web